…I’ve got some news too good not to share.

“The good news is there is only a 1.1% chance of reoccurrence and your body will NOT need to continue the hormone blocker after Feb 2023!”

Dr. Maraboli, my oncologist

That was 30 minutes ago and I’m still crying. 

At my last check-in, my oncologist suggested we have the Breast Cancer Index done. This is an amazing screening available to women who have early-stage hormone receptor-positive (HR+) breast cancer – which is the type mine was. It helps you and your doctor make an informed decision regarding whether you would benefit by extending the hormone blocker past the initial five years. It also gives you your individual risk of reoccurrence after 5 years based on your original tumor biology

When you are a cancer survivor you tuck deep within you the constant fear of reoccurrence. Hearing Dr. Maraboli say, “in other words you have a 99% chance the cancer isn’t coming back!” opened the floodgates to release 4 years and 7 months of stress this morning!!!! The hormone blocker gives me several not-so-fun side effects – and although I happily take it to prevent reoccurrence – being able to stop it after five years is also huge news to me!!

Joy. From the tips of my toes, through my battered breast, and leaking out my two blue eyes.

Joy.

7 thoughts on “…I’ve got some news too good not to share.

  1. I would love to share this with my two sisters-in-law, both of them are battling breast cancer. So in awe of all of you who have bravely fought this horrible disease. So freaking happy for you, Elaine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy for you, the community and us all over this amazing news Elaine! Praise GOD
    Love and hugs -Sheryl (Bombardier) w/ Jeff Shumake
    PS. We worked a football clinic this past weekend with Kent Nevin. We “name dropped” YOU of course😊
    He said “you were good people♥️

    Like

Leave a comment